© Juliette Agnel.jpg

JULIETTE AGNEL

The nights

From October 22, 2022 to January 15, 2023

Organized by the City of L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue

PRESENTATION

Juliette Agnel was born in 1973, and this personal exhibition presents nearly twenty years of work. It goes without saying that we can speak of a retrospective, as the spectators can see the affirmation of a photographic gesture unfolding there, constantly rubbing shoulders with the installation, the film, the duration, and the movement of the image.

 

EntitledThe nights,the hanging invites an exploration of fabulous spaces open to the unknown. Because, beyond a chronological presentation, it is rather a sensitive plunge into darkness, and a journey towards the interiority of the visible. The stars, the Milky Way, the immense opening of the night sky welcome us to better penetrate the emotional depths of the landscape; before presences and silhouettes appear, giving the approach a strong human dimension. Here, the very categories of landscape and portrait—carrying with them the whole history of painting—are worked head-on: the landscape becomes limitless, the faces send back their aura to us, the roads beckon us in their furrow.

 

From Africa to Korea, from Iceland to Greenland and Norway, from Spain to Morocco,  and as far as French Brittany, it's still a whole geography , dense and full of telluric forces, which is traversed. This territorial openness allows the experimentation of multiple techniques, such ascamera obscurathat Juliette Agnel developed in 2010, but also Super 8 film, the view camera, the Polaroid, and contemporary digital technologies.

 

You have to let yourself be carried away, let the natural forces stir up the senses, to understand that what bases all the artist's work is indeed a desire to enter into the raw material of the image, from primordial chaos to the cosmos. infinite. It is in this way that we will therefore have to travel to the end with her, in order to take stones or millennial plants in our hands, and finally trace the thread of our origins.

Lea Bismuth

COMMISSIONERS

Juliette Agnel, artist photographer

BIOGRAPHY OF THE ARTIST

Born in 1973, Juliette Agnel studied visual arts and ethno-aesthetics (Paris 1), and at the Beaux Arts de Paris (congratulated in 1999). A meeting with Jean Rouch took him on the roads of Africa for more than 10 years. In 2011, she designed and built a machine: thecamera obscuradigital with which she films and photographs.
 

Supported by Michel Poivert who invited her to the photographic seminar in 2012, her work was exhibited in South Korea, Norway and France, notably at the FIAC (Galerie Françoise Paviot – 2013), at the Nouvelles Vagues du Palais de Tokyo (2013 ), at the exhibition Close to me by Guillaume Lasserre (2015), at Mois de la Photo (2015), at Paris Photo (2016). She benefited from a personal exhibition at L'Espace Van Gogh in Arles in 2014 and was invited by Léa Bismuth, at the Tanneries d'Amilly in 2017. She participated in the Discovery Prize in Arles in 2017 with "Les Nocturnes" which will also be presented at the FIAC the same year.
 

She continues her research work towards extreme landscapes during an expedition to Greenland in 2018 and is invited to produce and show this work, "Les Portes de glace" at the Labanque art center (Béthune) during the year 2018- 2019 for the 3rd part of the trilogy on Georges Bataille (The Crossing of Concerns, curator Léa Bismuth) and at Chaumont-Photo-sur-Loire in parallel.

SELECTION OF WORKS

EXHIBITION VIDEO

 

EXHIBITION CATALOG

Laurent Delaire, These blanks that I dig

Publisher: City of L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue

Manufacturing: Compo Typo Relief Printing

Design: Marc Peyret, imaginer

© Laurent Delaire, 2022

© City of L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, 2022

63 pages

ISBN 978-2-9533968-9-8

On sale in limited edition at the Campredon bookstore

15,00€

© Juliette Agnel.jpeg

© Juliette Agnel.jpg

JULIETTE AGNEL

Les Nuits

Du 22 octobre 2022 au 15 janvier 2023

Organisée par la Ville de L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue

PRÉSENTATION

Juliette Agnel est née en 1973, et cette exposition personnelle présente près de vingt années de travail. Il va sans dire que nous pouvons parler d’une rétrospective, tant les spectateur.rices peuvent voir s’y déployer l’affirmation d’un geste photographique, côtoyant en permanence l’installation, le film, la durée, et le mouvement de l’image.

 

Intitulé Les Nuits, l’accrochage convie à une exploration de fabuleux espaces ouverts sur l’inconnu. Car, au-delà d’une présentation chronologique, il s’agit plutôt d’une plongée sensible dans l’obscurité, et d’un voyage vers l’intériorité du visible. Les étoiles, la voie lactée, l’ouverture immense du ciel nocturne nous accueillent pour mieux pénétrer dans les profondeurs émotionnelles du paysage ; avant que des présences et des silhouettes ne fassent leur apparition, conférant à la démarche une forte dimension humaine. Ici, les catégories mêmes du paysage et du portrait — charriant avec elles toute l’histoire de la peinture — sont travaillées à bras le corps : le paysage devient illimité, les visages nous renvoient leur aura, les routes nous appellent dans leur sillon.

 

De l’Afrique à la Corée, de l’Islande au Groenland et à la Norvège, de l’Espagne au Maroc,  et jusqu’à la Bretagne française, c’est encore toute une géographie, dense et pleine de forces telluriques, qui est parcourue. Cette ouverture territoriale permet l’expérimentation de multiples techniques, comme la camera obscura numérique que Juliette Agnel met au point en 2010, mais aussi le film Super 8, la chambre photographique, le Polaroïd, et les technologies numériques contemporaines.

 

Il faut se laisser porter, laisser les forces naturelles attiser les sens, pour comprendre que ce qui fonde tout le travail de l’artiste relève bien d’un désir d’entrer dans la matière première de l’image, du chaos primordial au cosmos infini. C’est de cette façon qu’il faudra donc voyager jusqu’au bout avec elle, afin de prendre dans nos mains des pierres ou des plantes millénaires, et remonter finalement le fil de nos origines.

Léa Bismuth

COMMISSAIRES

Juliette Agnel, artiste photographe

BIOGRAPHIE DE L'ARTISTE

Née en 1973, Juliette Agnel a fait des études d’arts plastiques et d’ethno-esthétique (Paris 1), et aux Beaux Arts de Paris (félicitée en 1999). Une rencontre avec Jean Rouch l’amène sur les routes de l’Afrique pendant plus de 10 ans. En 2011, elle conçoit et fabrique une machine : la camera obscura numérique avec laquelle elle filme et photographie.
 

Soutenue par Michel Poivert qui l’invite au séminaire photographique en 2012, son travail sera exposé en Corée du Sud, en Norvège ou en France, notamment à la FIAC (Galerie Françoise Paviot – 2013), aux Nouvelles Vagues du Palais de Tokyo (2013), à l’exposition Close to me de Guillaume Lasserre (2015), au Mois de la Photo (2015), à Paris Photo (2016). Elle a bénéficié d’une exposition personnelle à L’Espace Van Gogh à Arles en 2014 et est invitée par Léa Bismuth, aux Tanneries d’Amilly en 2017. Elle participe au Prix découverte à Arles en 2017 avec « Les Nocturnes » qui seront aussi présentées à la FIAC la même année.
 

Elle poursuit son travail de recherche vers les paysages extrêmes lors d’une expédition au Groenland en 2018 et est invitée à produire et montrer ce travail, « Les Portes de glace » au centre d’art Labanque (Béthune) pendant l’année 2018-2019 pour le 3e volet de la trilogie sur Georges Bataille (La traversée des Inquiétudes, commissaire Léa Bismuth) et à Chaumont-Photo-sur-Loire en parallèle.

SÉLECTION D'ŒUVRES

VIDÉO DE L'EXPOSITION

 

CATALOGUE-OBJET DE L'EXPOSITION

Juliette Agnel | Silex

Édition : Maison CF | Clémentine de la Féronnière avec le soutien de la Ville de L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue

Conception et adaptation graphique : Nelly Riedel

Photogravure et impression : Deux-Ponts, Grenoble

© Juliette Agnel, 2022

© Léa Bismuth, 2022

© Maison CF, Paris, 2022

© Ville de L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, 2022

11 volets
12 x 15 cm

ISBN 979-10-96575-29-9

En vente à la librairie Campredon

20,00€

© Juliette Agnel.jpeg